What happens if the at-fault driver is not insured or has minimum coverage?

Frequently Asked Questions

If the at-fault driver has minimal or no insurance coverage at all, it is important to know your own levels of coverage. For instance, does your policy include uninsured motorist (UM) or under-insured motorist (UIM) coverage? Does your policy include personal injury protection (PIP) coverage?

These types of insurance coverage are not required by law, but they can help cover your property and injury damages when the adverse driver has little or no insurance coverage. Because you did not cause the car wreck, your rates will not increase if you collect on the extra coverage you’ve been paying over time.

However, it is crucial you contact an experienced car accident attorney in Dallas before making an uninsured motorist claim. Having an attorney on your side can help maximize your claims with either or both insurance companies.

What if the driver who hit me was under the influence of alcohol or drugs?

Frequently Asked Questions

If you’ve been in a car accident involving someone under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it’s a very serious case and claims. Often times, you may be entitled to additional punitive damages for that type of conduct. Our highly skilled DFW car accident litigators have extensive experience with juries often deliver large verdicts for the pain, suffering, mental anguish, and injuries sustained.

Should I Go to the Doctor After My Car Accident?

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I See a Doctor After My Car Accident? - Reyes Browne Reilley FAQ Blog

Something we often get asked is “when should an individual seek medical treatment after their car accident?” Once you have been in an accident and you feel ill or anything that is out of the ordinary, you need to seek medical attention. Immediately feeling the aftermath of the car accident can be very dangerous.

Read More

Should I be concerned if I am running up a lot of medical bills after my accident?

Frequently Asked Questions

When you are injured in a car accident, and you need to seek healthcare, it’s important for you to take care of your body because it’s the only one you have. So whether your medical bills are $5,000 or $100,000, it is vital to get that care you need. It’s not going to really be affected by how much insurance coverage the other driver has. What will be affected is the health and quality of life you have for the rest of your time here on earth.

As your legal advocates, isolating you from the medical bills is one of the very important services we provide – either by you treating with medical providers who agree to receive payment after we settle your case or the settlement we hammer out of the insurance company(s), or the bill reductions our skilled Dallas car accident attorneys and staff might negotiate with the medical providers.

What is the statute of limitations to bring a Texas auto accident case?

Frequently Asked Questions

It will vary, depending on the state where the accident or incident occurred.

In Texas, you have two years to bring an injury lawsuit against an adverse party at fault for your accident, but there are many requirements around the statute of limitations. You’ll need to hire a professional car accident attorney in Dallas who can help you meet those deadlines and protect you along the way.

What documents or evidence should I bring when I meet with my law firm?

When you first meet with the attorney representing your auto accident case and/or legal staff, it’s important to bring all the evidence you can possibly obtain so your attorney can properly evaluate your case. You will also need to bring your insurance information, any medical records or receipts pertaining to the event, and photographs. If there were any witnesses, remember to bring their names and phone numbers, too.