While it is not mandatory for Texans to have uninsured motorist coverage, it is highly recommended. About 1 in 7 cars on the road in Texas are uninsured drivers, according to the Insurance Information Institute.
What is Texas Law?
Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to pay for the accidents they cause. The current minimum liability limits are $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage. However, if you’ve been hit by an uninsured driver, the minimum amounts might not be enough to cover the entire cost of the car damage and medical bills. Purchasing more than the minimum requirement can help alleviate these costs.
Immediately following a crash, make sure you are not blocking traffic. Pull over to the outside shoulder or a parking lot to avoid oncoming traffic. If the police are not already at the scene, call them. Even in a minor accident, a police report is useful when dealing with insurance companies. Let the police determine who is at fault. Gather the information of the other driver by taking pictures, or if unavailable, write down their information. Make sure you document their license plate, driver’s license, insurance card, and pictures of the damage (or lack thereof) on both vehicles. Take pictures of the scene of the incident and surrounding street signs, landmarks, etc.
It is important to speak with a doctor or medical professional immediately to address any current injuries, or those that could arise later. Whiplash can be difficult to detect immediately, which is why it is extremely important to get a professional diagnosis. Leaving damages to your body untreated could result in potentially debilitating harm in the future.
Contact the law office of Reyes Browne & Reilley to find out more about our services. Fill out the Contact Usform here on our website for a free and confidential consultation.